Unnecessary files such as, temporary Internet files, recycle bin files, applications temporary files, setup log files, offline web pages, thumbnails, downloaded install programs and system error reports take up disk space and have an impact on data access times! The Disk Cleanup tool removes these obsolete files.
Start the Disk Cleanup tool by typing disk cleanup in the Start search text box.
If you have more than one drive, the first window prompts you to select which drive you want to clean. Then, it scans the drive and calculates how much space can be regained. Remember, that many obsolete files reside in the system drive c:
For every item you select under Files to delete, a description is displayed below with a View Files button that will display the files selected for deletion. Not all items have the View Files option while categories that have no obsolete files may not be shown in the list. When you press OK, a dialog box asks you to confirm the deletion of files as this operation will delete the selected files permanently! The cleaning process may take some time to finish depending on the number of files selected and the disk access speed.
The Clean up system files button allows you to remove obsolete system files, however, if you are logged on with administrator privileges this is done automatically while this button is not shown. In addition, a new tab More options is added to the Disk Cleanup main window.
The More Options tab of the Disk Cleanup windows allows you to remove programs by directing you to the Add or Remove Programs window - Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Programs and Features through the Clean up… button. Then you select the programs you want to uninstall.
Another option in the More Options tab is the cleanup of old restores points. After you hit the Clean up… button a dialog box asks you to confirm the operation. Restore points have a maximum threshold of disk space usage hence, if you are not desperate for disk space, I suggest you do not delete them. Restore points may come handy when restoring previous versions of files!